Click here to access 
South Carolina’s Virtual Library 


Quick Search across multiple databases

Academic Search Premier - Comprehensive database of academic journals for scholarly research. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Agricola - Contains information on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

 

Alt HealthWatch - Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

 

Ancestry Library Edition - Use to conduct genealogical research. Available only through the library's internet service.

AP NewsMonitor Collection

- Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

 

Applied Science & Technology Full Text - Covers a wide variety of applied science specialties — from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear and civil engineering. This database provides full-text content and in-depth indexing and abstracts from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and conference proceedings. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

AutoMate Powered by MOTOR and primarily used by adult learners and has the most accurate, and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.  The content includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins, and recalls. 

 

Biography In Context - Features biographies on more than 220,000 people and full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals and major reference books. Search for people based on one or more personal facts, such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Bloom's Literary Reference Center - An extensive database of literary criticism, analysis and media. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

BrainPop Jr. - Offers animated, curricular movies, interactive quizzes, games, and activities for students in grade K-3.  It encourages young learners to ask questions and form their own ideas. Interactive features extend key concepts, and all text is read-aloud to facilitate comprehension.  Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library

Business Source Premier - Provides comprehensive coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, etc. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses, with indexing, abstracts and full text back to 1965. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Career Transitions, an online career guidance center that walks job seekers through the job-search process from beginning to end.Career Transitions helps students explore careers, assess interests and experience, create resumes, and search and apply for jobs using Indeed.com.  Target audiences include: transitioning veterans, recent college graduates, current students, long-term unemployed, under employed and trades professionals, and adults rejoining the workforce.

 

Computer Source - Provides a balance of full-text technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles covering topics such as computers, telecommunications, electronics and the Internet. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

 

Consumer Health Complete - Simple interface designed for the everyday health care consumer and contains easily understandable health and medical information. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Consumer Reports

 

Credo Reference - An easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

 

CultureGrams - Reports on over 200 United Nations-member countries, as well as all 50 states. Contains information on history, customs, family, lifestyle, recipes, economy and more. Includes a special kids' edition aimed at upper-elementary students. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

DK Eyewitness ebooks- This is a collection used by media specialists and students in middle or lower high school.  They are image rich and a real hit in the schools.

Education Full Text - Provides full-text and indexing coverage for a wide range of topics in education, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more. Also provides in-depth coverage of special education, with over 50 journals dedicated to this important topic. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

 

Encyclopaedia Britannica Public Library Edition - An online version of the respected encyclopedia for users of all ages. Timelines, videos, and a dictionary are available. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Encyclopaedia Britannica School Edition - Access to encyclopedia and related content on three levels: elementary, middle and high school, as well as teacher resources. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 - Based on the European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750, the database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered, from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Explora for Elementary Schools

Explora for Middle Schools

Explora for High Schools

 

Explora for Public Libraries

Fuente Academica - Collection of over 500 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. Covering a variety of academic disciplines, such as law, business, history, and theology, the majority of the articles are in Spanish, with some English language abstracts. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.


Federal Student Aid:  A financial aid resource

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

GreenFILE - Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Comprised of more than 600 scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Health Source: Consumer Edition - This full-text database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. In addition to offering full text of more than 80 consumer health magazines, it also offers full-text access to many current health-related pamphlets and reference books. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

History Reference Center - A comprehensive, full-text history-reference database containing full text from major reference books, non-fiction works, and periodicals, as well as videos, maps, and primary source documents. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

 

Kids Infobits - General-interest database for children, containing magazine and newspaper articles and reference books. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Learn360- A database filled with videos, images, audio files, science experiments, etc.  It’s designed for educators.

LearningExpress Library - Interactive practice exams, skill-building courses, and test preparation materials. Now includes computer skills section! Requires free registration. Your user name must be your library card number. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Library Literature & Information Science Index - Provides comprehensive indexing of articles from key library and information science periodicals. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts - Indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Literary Reference Center - A full-text resource that combines information from major respected reference works, books and literary journals, as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

MAS Ultra: School Edition - A comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school students, contains full text for nearly 500 popular magazines. Full text is also available for biographies and primary source documents, as well as pamphlets, reference books, an image collection of photos, maps and flags, and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

 

MasterFILE Premier - Designed specifically for public libraries, this database provides full-text for general reference publications, with some full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, it also includes full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

 

Medline - Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

 

Middle Search Plus - Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full-text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Military and Government Collection - Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Newspaper Source Plus - Includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. Comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Novelist Plus - Guide to fiction and non-fiction by age level, book discussion aids, and thematic book lists. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Novelist K–8 Plus - A subset of Novelist Plus, this product helps parents, teachers, and librarians engage young readers. The search pages and title results are aimed at young readers in kindergarten through eighth grades. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context - A database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy, with more than 8,700 pro-and-con viewpoint articles. For middle school students through adults. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Points of View Reference Center - A database of controversial topics that present multiple sides of a current issue. Articles provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by supporting references from political and societal publications. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

PowerSearch - Discover millions of full text peer-reviewed scholarly articles.

Primary Search - Contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Professional Development Collection - Designed for professional educators, it provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - A comprehensive database covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full-text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Regional Business News - Provides full text for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Religion and Philosophy Collection - Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Science Reference Center - A comprehensive research database that provides full-text access to science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Small Business Reference Center - Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Includes full-text of many popular Nolo Press titles. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.


StudySC - This website has links to South Carolina-specific web resources for K-12 homework help, projects and more. It is useful to elementary, middle school, and high school students and educators.

Teacher Reference Center - Provides indexing and abstracts for many of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

TOPICSearch - Current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms, including controversial opinions and viewpoints. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Vocational and Career Collection - For vocational and technical research needs, this collection provides full-text coverage for more than 330 trade and industry-related periodicals and also contains articles on interviewing, resumes, compensation and other pertinent subjects. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.